Wouldn’t that be lovely. Let’s pit the guys who won the 1983 World cup and 1985 World Championship of cricket: a team that contained the lovely batting of Azharuddin and Vengsarkar and the beautiful spin bowling of Siva and Maninder versus the guys who came second in 2003 to the greatest Australian team of some time. Let’s play a 3 game series: one at the Melbourne cricket ground (*without* truncated boundaries) on a wicket with plenty of bounce *and* turn, one on a lively Durban wicket with plenty of bounce, swing and seam movement and another at the lovely Kensington Oval at Barbados, by the sea. Here are my team lists:

India 1980’s:
SM Gavaskar (c)
Kris Srikkanth
Mohammad Azharuddin
Dilip Vengsarkar
Mohinder Amarnath
Kapil Dev
Roger Binny
S Viswanath (wk)
Madal Lal
Laxman Sivaramakrishnan
Maninder Singh

India 2000’s:
SR Tendulkar
V Sehwag
SC Ganguly (c)
Virat Kohli
Rahul Dravid
MS Dhoni (wk)
Harbhajan Singh
Anil Kumble
Javagal Srinath
Zaheer Khan
Ashish Nehra