Mark Taylor the former Australian captain, has some wonderful comments about captaincy which can atually be read here
Below are extracts i found suggestive of the his wonderful approach to sport

Would you say that captaincy is the toughest job in cricket?
No, no. I think it could be one of the most enjoyable jobs in the world, particularly when you are a batsman who doesn’t bowl. Captaincy can only add to the game for you. I certainly found that, when I took over the captaincy of Australia, it just gave me something else to do on the field.

I’ve always believed that every player should be thinking about the game all the time, about what they can do to maybe help the side out. But when you are the captain, you’ve got to actually make those decisions. And it certainly added to what I could do during the game, so I found it very enjoyable.

Was it never a challenge for you?
At the end of the day, people take the game too seriously. It’s not always easy but you’ve got to keep it in perspective. You are talking about the game of cricket here. I never saw it as a job that costs people their lives or their money or anything like that. It was a game for people to enjoy playing and watching. It was a challenge, yes, but something I enjoyed.

